Skip to product information
1 of 1


Taimanov/Flick-Knife Attack (3 part series)

Taimanov/Flick-Knife Attack (3 part series)

Regular price $4.49 USD
Regular price $8.97 USD Sale price $4.49 USD
Sale Sold out

In the Bible, Ben-Oni is the name Rachel gives her son as she lays dying in childbirth, and means “child of my sorrow” in Hebrew. And never has an opening in chess been more aptly associated with sorrow than the Benoni - especially nowadays, with the Taimanov variation (or the so-called ‘Flick-Knife Attack', as Dave Norwood graphically describes it in his 1994 book) almost proving to be the death knell for the Benoni. After 1 d4 Nf6 2 c4 c5 3 d5 e6 4 Nc3 exd5 5 cxd5 d6 6 e4 g6 7 f4 Bg7 8 Bb5+, wild gambit play, sacrifices and all-out attack proves to be the order of the day in this aggressive line against the Benoni, and it features in a new series of Gambit Guide.

View full details